Fred & Edie by Jill Dawson

fredWhile I was transporting my blog over here, it struck me that I do far fewer book reviews than I used to, so I’m going to try and remedy that.

This book is based on the true story of Edith Thompson, a 27 year old married bookkeeper from Ilford.  After having an affair with a younger man, she and her boyfriend were hanged for the murder of her husband in early 1923, in a case that scandalised the nation at the time.

 I enjoyed the content of the book, though it was quite disturbing towards the end, obviously, but found the writer’s style  bit hit and miss; she seemed to ramble off the point at length in parts, which I found myself skimming through.

 Part of the Home Office file on the case was sealed until 2022, so perhaps there are still mysteries surrounding it which will become apparent in the future ….

5 thoughts on “Fred & Edie by Jill Dawson

  1. I really don’t know, unless it was standard practice in those days in cases when the death sentence was imposed? Just speculating, really …

  2. Hi Angie – not sure why you can’t change it, but it’s fine to leave it as the old one if you like xx

  3. Pingback: 2009 Book Review « What’s Happening At My House

Leave a Reply

