Frock It: Hits & Misses

Another week, another Frock It post – and despite the fact that I’m currently sunning myself (hopefully) in Spain, I couldn’t miss out on my weekly celebrity bitchfest, so I scheduled it before I went away.  Such a dedicated blogger, I am.

Anyway, let’s start with my favourites over the past week.  First up, Chanel Iman, the model at CFDA Fashion Awards in New York.

Love the colour, love the simplicity of the design – so elegant.

Another hit for me this week was once again the Duchess of Cambridge, this time in Jenny Packham with LK Bennett shoes – just dazzling.  She is so amazingly self-assured, isn’t she?

And my final favourite this week surprisingly, as I really don’t like the woman, is Elizabeth Hurley, attending the same do as Kate.  I really like this dress, and it’s rather nice to see Liz without her cleavage hanging out for once, and dressing more appropriately for somebody of her age.  Her hair looks nice a little lighter than normal, as well.

And now onto this week’s misses:

Alexandra Burke at the Glamour Awards: what WERE you thinking?

Chloe Sevigny in a self-designed outfit at the CFDA Fashion Awards in New York.  I’d stick to acting if I were you, love.

And finally, Donna Karan, the fashion designer, wearing an outfit made from a selection of grey dishrags to a polo match.  I do like her hat, though.

As ever, more Frock It posts over at Mid 30s Life.

11 thoughts on “Frock It: Hits & Misses

  1. OMG I laughed at your comment about Chloe – she always has a rather ‘interesting’ style.
    I loved Kate’s dress too – but I wondered if it would have looked as good had the carpet not been such a vibrant purple. On a regular beige carpet it may have looked a little more blah. But I think she outshone all the other fashionistas there that night.

    Is Alexander B preggers – just thinking of WHY she’d wear that dress…..

  2. Just been reading in the Sunday Times mag about the understated elegance of the Middleton girls. Both very pretty and very natural, certainly a lot of so called celebrities could follow their example and be better role models.

  3. Hi! I’ve recently come across your blog and am really enjoying it! I hope you are having a good time in Spain and look forward to reading more of your posts.

  4. What a good shot of Liz Hurley for a change. Just shows that getting your baps out and hitching your skirt up all the time is not necessarily a good thing. Well done Lizzie.

  5. Donna Karan!! Alexandra Bourke!! Noooo!! So wrong. Ms Bourke could house the homeless under there. What were they thinking? And DK should know better. But they have entertained me. Not sure how I missed seeing them in the papers this week?

    Not good.

    Can’t say I’m a fan of that first dress. A bit like wrapping a paddle pop stick in swathes of fabric.

  6. Donna Karen literally made me L.O.L. She reminds me of Barbra Streisand’s character in Meet the Fockers for some reason and that’s not meant as any kind of compliment. Great list!

  7. Great observations, Caroline. Your ‘misses’ this week are all truly dreadful – and very funny. (BTW, I believe I’m your swap-partner for the ‘Faith, Hope and Charity Shopping’ swap. Apologies if you’ve been trying to e-mail me but I had to change my e-mail address – new one is elizabeth (dot) yule (at) hotmail (dot) co (dot) uk.) Hope you’ve had a wonderful time in Spain.

Leave a Reply

