August Movies

The Last King of Scotland  

A friend lent us the DVD of this ages ago and we finally got round to watching it this month.  It was a GREAT film (and I learnt some stuff as well – it’s becoming a habit!).  Very rare for Ashley and I to even watch the same movie, let alone both enjoy it, but we did.

 Captain America

 Took Will to the cinema to watch this, expecting to be bored to tears by it, but I really liked it, and was gripped all the way through.  Just goes to show that it’s worth stepping out of your comfort zone every now and then.

 Never Let Me Go

 Based on the book by Kazuo Ishiguro (which I thanked my lucky stars I’ve never bothered reading after watching this movie), I found it one of the most depressing films I’ve watched in a long time.  The acting was great and the plot quite clever and thought-provoking, but yep, overall I ended it feeling sad and depressed.  Life’s too short for this type of movie, for me.

 

 The Princess Bride

 I’ve managed never to watch this before somehow, and suffice to say I shan’t be watching it again.  William quite enjoyed it, but I was bored to tears and ended up half reading a book and half watching the film.  Not for me.

 Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Again, this is so not my type of movie, but William was keen and having seen a trailer for it at the cinema and thinking it looked quite interesting, we decided to give it a go.  It was watchable and even quite touching in some parts, but a bit overlong and drawn out.

 Sweet Home Alabama

 Another old one that I’d never got round to seeing.  I love Reese Witherspoon, and really enjoyed this light-hearted film – great.

Country Strong

As a bit of a closet country music lover, I had high expectations of this movie starring Gwynneth Paltrow, and I wasn’t disappointed.  A proper story with a beginning, a middle and a bittersweet end, along with some great music – what’s not to like?  Call me shallow but this was my movie of the month.  And Leighton Meester (of Gossip Girl) was fabulous in it.

Have you watched any good movies lately?

6 thoughts on “August Movies

  1. Loved Sweet Home Alabama, I want my hair like that! not seen any of the others, Planet of the apes looks really scarey lol!
    x Dawn

  2. Love sweet home alabama & saw country strong in US last year and thoroughly enjoyed… Last king of Scotland also enjoyed. We have very similar tastes, maybe need to step outside comfort zone & look up some of the others!… Tx

  3. Ah the Princess Bride, I do like that one!
    Not seen any of the others.
    We watched Tea with Mussolini last night. I was woried about that ending, like you say sad movie endings, life is full of enough of that to have to sit and watch stuff on screen too!
    Lisa x

  4. The only one I have seen is The Last King of Scotland, which I enjoyed, and also learned quite a bit from! I think I’ve started to watch the Princess Bride, but can’t remember a thing about it. I keep meaning to watch Sweet Home Alabama – I really must get on and do it. The last film I watched was X Men First Class, which I enjoyed much more than I thought I would.

  5. I wish you had posted this on Friday when I found myself in Blockbusters as usual staring hopelessly at the films not knowing which ones to choose – I can honestly say I had no idea what most of them where so settled for The Tourist which was rubbish (thought Depp/Jolie partnership would have signed up to a better film) however having just, this weekend, watched Full Moon and Eclipse from the Twighlight saga my faith in movies has just been restored!

  6. That’s interesting about Never Let Me Go, I just read the book fairly recently and really enjoyed it! Really tragic. I looked at the DVD box in the HMV sale the other day but didn’t really fancy it. Sounds like my instincts may have been correct!

Leave a Reply

