Lentil, Chick Pea & Chilli Soup

Regular readers will know that I am not a big fan of winter, but one of the things I do like about it is eating big, hearty, steaming bowls of soup.  Healthy and delicious, too – what’s not to love?

I’ve noticed over the last week that mornings are definitely getting lighter and evenings a little longer, so spring must be on its way, despite the fact that it was -3 degrees C when I did the school run this morning!

So while it’s still wintery and chilly enough, I thought I’d share one of my favourite winter soup recipes with you.  It’s delicious, a bit spicy, really filling, and ridiculously simple to make.

2 tsp cumin seeds
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp (or more if preferred) chilli flakes
1 red onion, chopped
140g red lentils
Approx 1 pt veg stock, depending on how thick or runny you like your soup
400g can chopped tomatoes
1 can chick peas, rinsed and drained
1 small bunch coriander, roughly chopped
Greek yogurt, to serve
  • Heat large saucepan and dry fry cumin seeds and chilli flakes for 1 min.
  • Add oil and onion, cook until onion softens.
  • Stir in lentils, stock and tomatoes, bring to boil and simmer for 15 mins.
  • Whizz soup in blender until it has a rough puree texture, then pour back into pan and add chick peas.
  • Heat gently, season to taste and add chopped coriander.
  • Finish with a dollop of yogurt.

I’m sharing this post as part of Mrs M’s February recipe linky party, so if you like cooking, do pop over and have a look at all the other lovely recipes.

 

10 thoughts on “Lentil, Chick Pea & Chilli Soup

  1. That soup looks so delicious. I love all the ingredients except for some reason, I don’t care for coriander. Can I substitute something else for it?

Leave a Reply

