Smoked Salmon, Rocket & Horseradish Pasta

I’m on an ever-continuing quest to find non-meat meals that Ashley, my other half, will actually eat, and when I answered his ‘What’s for dinner?’ question last night, his response when I told him was less than enthusiastic, shall we say.   However, he really enjoyed it and even went as far as to say he’d eat it again, so it was a bit of a result, really.

I thought it was delicious, too, and as it was so quick and easy to throw together, I thought I’d post the recipe here.

Serves 2

200g pasta – I used fresh tagliatelle, but any old pasta would do.

100g smoked salmon, cut into strips.

1 lemon, zested, plus the juice of half of it.

4 handfuls of rocket, you can roughly chop it if you like, or if you’re lazy like me, not bother.  The original recipe called for watercress, so you could use that if you preferred, but as I had rocket which needed using up, I substituted that.

2 tbsp horseradish sauce

2 tbsp half fat creme fraiche

Optional: some finely grated Pecorino cheese to sprinkle on the top, and lemon wedges to serve.

1.   Cook the pasta according to instructions on the packet.  Drain and tip into a bowl with the rest of the ingredients.  Mix well, adding lashings of black pepper.

2.  Eat.  Enjoy.

See – couldn’t be simpler!

**Linking up with Mrs M’s Recipe linky **

7 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon, Rocket & Horseradish Pasta

  1. That’s such a healthy looking meal, glad it was well received, it’s good to try new things and even better when they are liked!
    Lisa x

  2. Yummmmm! I will definitely be trying this soon. I love salmon, but the hubs doesn’t. I resort to cooking it when he’s gone or ordering it in restaurants. Coincidentally I ordered a lemony salmon and pasta dish for our anniversary dinner out last night. It was SO good that I can’t wait to try yours. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  3. I am afraid OH would turn his nose up at the smoked salmon thinking it was more of a starter than a main course. Myself I would love it. I often do a similar thing with fresh salmon and tagliatelli. Any left over salmon I then mix cold with natural yoghurt, mayonaisse and hot chilli sauce for my ryvitas next day. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

