Friday 5: Things I’m A Bit Sick Of

Time for a Friday 5 – feels like ages since I last did one.

1.   CATH KIDSTON.  It’s just all a bit …. TWEE.  And overpriced.  In my humble opinion.  I know there are many, many people out there in blogland who will disagree with me, but hey ho, it would be a boring world if we all liked the same things, wouldn’t it?

2.   KEEP CALM & CARRY ON.  Oh God, I am SO sick of this – it really is just everywhere.  My son informed me yesterday that there’s even a Keep Calm iPhone App, for goodness’ sake.  And most of the derivations aren’t even amusing.  Go away.

3.   BACK TO SCHOOL DISPLAYS in supermarkets.  They’ve been up since the beginning of July, and I don’t want to look at them any more.  Take them away.  And DON’T replace them with Christmas things, thank you.

4.   SCAFFOLDING in my driveway.  The neighbours had some work done on their chimney which necessitated putting up scaffolding in our already-very-narrow shared driveway.  Although the work was finished last week, the scaffolding is still up, and I can literally only JUST squeeze my car through, with about two inches on either side.  Which is rapidly becoming tedious.

5.   MY BROADBAND.  However, since starting this post, I have had a telephone call from Tesco, my broadband provider, informed me that AT LAST they have fixed my crappy speed.  And touch wood, it currently seems to be much improved.  Whether it stays that way or not, only time will tell.

What are you a bit sick of at the moment?

4 thoughts on “Friday 5: Things I’m A Bit Sick Of

  1. I can’t bare all this keep calm business either and I totally agree with you about Cath Kidson – contrived vintage just doesn’t cut it with me – not original!

    The only thing I can think of that’s annoying me at the moment is all the adverts on Facebook (for which I am guilty of) I hate all the updates when you can see that so-and-so likes Fairy etc and so-and-so has signed up for some grouping deal – who cares!!

    Oh and I’m sick of not having enough hours in the day!

  2. I’m sorry to get a smile out of your aggravation, but I did. I’m tired of the CARRY ON fad too, but I will admit to liking some of the derivations…but only the ones that are kind of good puns (since I’m a knitter, the CARRY YARN one springs to mind). My husband’s name is Carey, so I briefly considered making one for him that said CAREY ON, but he wouldn’t have a clue and would care even less. LOL

    Right now I am a lot sick of the hiring process with my current employer. I have been employed there since 2001 for heaven’s sake, but the process of moving from part time back to full time is a major pain in the @$$. The HR person called me while I was in the city earlier today to schedule a phone interview (!) for Monday morning at 7:00am. I will be on my way to work then, so I hope I can curb my tendency for cursing other drivers during the interview. :)

  3. CK can be overpriced I agree, that’s why I prefer shopping in the outlet at Gunwharf, better prices!
    I do like the Keep Calm thing, but it’s gone too far as it’s on everything. I did a post last year I think about how when I was at school I hated seeing the Back to School displays for uniform before we had even broken up!
    Definitely seeing Christmas cards in the Card Factory the other day got me cross. I maybe on the look out for suitable pressies all year round but no-one needs to buy a card in August, the post isn’t that bad!!
    Lisa x

  4. Totally agree with you on the first two. I am sick of reading how celebrities achieve their ‘flawless complexions’ Today I learned that Kylie attributed her wrinkle free mush to Ponds Cold Cream! Yeah right and I’m the tooth fairy.

Leave a Reply

