My Veg Box

A couple of years ago, I started getting a regular organic vegetable box delivery from Riverford, but in the middle of last year, I decided to stop: the prices had gone up (again), and although the produce was lovely when it arrived, we struggled to get through the amounts, even in the ‘small’ box before it started going ‘off’ (I suppose the downside of organic is that some fresh stuff only lasts for literally a day or so before it needs using up).

A few weeks before Christmas, I had a leaflet through the door from a fruit and veg company who do a box scheme, called 5 A Day Box. Being an admirer of anybody who makes an effort to go door-to-door dropping leaflets in order to promote their business – we get very few out here in the sticks – I decided to give them a go, and just before Christmas, I ordered one of their small sized fruit and veg boxes. It was delivered, promptly, by a charming man and his teenage son, and the produce (although neither local nor organic) was plentiful, fresh and of a wide variety. I was really impressed. So much so, that I’ve had another one delivered this week.

For £11.95 (including delivery) I received:
Potatoes, Parsnips, Swede, Onions, Carrots, Savoy Cabbage, Cauliflower, Leeks, Salad Potatoes, Cress, Cucumber, Iceberg Lettuce, Cherry Tomatoes, Pineapple, Oranges, Bananas, Clementines, Cox Apples, Grapes

I’ve been really impressed so far, and although in an ideal world, I would prefer the produce was more local, and more organic, unfortunately that route hasn’t worked for me, and this one is doing so at the moment. Thumbs up to the 5 A Day Box People!

2 thoughts on “My Veg Box

  1. I tried veg box deliveries but found them lacking. I use a lot of onions and I’d only get one, look forward to an autumn squash and non would come, or as a salad lover I’d resent eating a dull iceberg lettuce. I now shop with my cotton bag and buy the exact local/organic and veg I want and praise (mostly) or scorn the grocer(often no FT bananas) as appropriate!

Leave a Reply

