A Trip to the Libary

Yesterday evening, I dropped Will at karate, parked the car and took a walk to the library to pick up a book I’d reserved. As I had some time to kill, I decided to have a wander around while I was there. Oh, I do love the library! I came home with a selection of lovely books, not to mention a feeling of calm (the library always activates a destressing mechanism in me), so I thought I’d show you what I got:

IMG_0968

  • Cook Yourself Thin – this was the book that I’d reserved. I saw the TV series a couple of years ago, and thought it might give me some inspiration with my attempts to eat healthily and lose some weight.
  • Wild Caribbean – the beautiful photography (and the idyllic looking front cover, let’s be honest!) drew me to this book.  And I thought I might find out a little bit about Antigua, where we’re going on holiday in October.

IMG_0969

  • I just couldn’t resist this book – its subtitle is ‘A timeless treasury of seasonal ideas and recipes’ and it just took my fancy.  Full of all sorts of ideas.

 

IMG_0967

  • I can never come away from the library without a self-improvement book of some kind – and this one took my fancy.  There’s lots of health and exercise stuff in it, which is what I need at the moment.
  • I’ve been meaning to read through Jools Oliver’s pregnancy diary since it was published, and although it’s not particularly relevant to me anymore, it still looks like an entertaining read and I thought I’d snap it up while I saw it. 

 

IMG_0970

  • And lastly, a book full of gorgeous knitting patterns.  I’d love to start knitting again (I can just do the very basic knit and purl stitches, but would like to be better, and actually be able to follow a pattern and make things).  I think everything in this book is going to be far too advanced, and it’s unlikely I’m going to get down to knitting anything before September time, but the ideas in this book might just spur me on.
4 thoughts on “A Trip to the Libary

    • I’ll certainly do my best, Angie. Think they may keep me sitting still for a good while over the weekend!

  1. Hello Caroline
    A great collection of interesting books there – might look out for the Eating or should it be cooking yourself thin one.
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Lovely collection of reading material. I love to read but it’s been a while since I treated myself to a good book. I’ll have to take notes of your selections. I do have several books around the house that I just ought to pick up and get stuck into. Once I do I don’t stop! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I lived in Marldon along the ring road for 10 years before I met Gregg and moved to the US. Know Newton Abbot very well. It is also where my Dad used to pick us up at the train station when we went home. Gregg and I got married in Saint John the Baptist Church in our village – we lived in Pembroke Park off Vicarage Hill but the bungalow was sold long ago. I loved that village and it holds many happy memories for me.

Leave a Reply

