2009 Book Review

I thought I hadn’t read that much this year, but looking over my list, it’s well over a book a week which, considering how busy I’ve been, is an achievement I’m happy with.  Here, without further ado, are my book awards for this year:

Best Book

I can’t choose just one, so this is a tie between

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (he is the most amazing and thought-provoking story teller – brilliant, brilliant, brilliant).

And

Harvesting The Heart by Jodi Picoult (I wrote about this book here – enough said)

Worst Book

Other than the two books that I didn’t manage to finish (see my ‘Books’ page):

 How to Be An Amazing Mum by Tanith Carey has to win this award, not entirely for its content, I must be honest, but for the two very unpleasant comments left by its author, who took exception to the fact that I gave my honest opinion of her book. 

 New Author I’ve Enjoyed

Karin Slaughter was recommended to me by a colleague back in the spring of this year, and since then, I’ve been reading through her books in chronological order.  I enjoy a good thriller, and have really liked the character development in the series, as the books are based around the same set of characters.  I shall be reading more of these in the coming year.

Best Autobiography

Again, two books tie for this award:

 Living on the Seabed by Lindsay Nicholson

 And

 Stolen Time by Sunny Jacobs

 Both these books are stunning , and very different, examples of triumph of the human spirit over the most terrible adversity.

Biggest Disappointment by Previously Enjoyed Author

The Best of Times by Penny Vincenzi – really disappointing after some of the wonderful books she’s written in the past.  Maybe she just doesn’t have any more stories left in her – I often think this is the case with prolific authors who start well and then disappoint later on.

Most Unusual Book

Fred & Edie by Jill Dawson, which I wrote about here.

 Here’s to another year of great reading in 2010!

7 thoughts on “2009 Book Review

  1. Hmmm books. I’m into Terry Pratchett myself and recently discovered a great one called Soveriegn (mystery set in Tudor times).

    Hope you have a great christmastime!

  2. My favorite this year was Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. I also re-read The House on the Strand by Daphne DuMaurier, and was happy that I still found it enjoyable all these decades after first reading it.

    I know for a fact that my number of books read this year is way down…maybe because I’ve been working more…I don’t know. I hereby resolve to read more in the new year!

  3. I too loved The House on the Strand and think a Thousand Suns should be compulsory reading. Disappointment was New York by Edward Rutherford. Loved Sarum. Also Alone by Marissa Farrar on ebook. Great sexy, vampire story.

  4. Have heard about A Thousdan Splendid Suns and would like to check it out. Or was that Sons. whatever….. Am aiming to actually read some books this year. All I managed last year was Carter Beats the Devil which was rollicking. Loved it. Highly recommended. I got a book called Shantaram for Christmas, which someone told me was brilliant. Will let you know.

  5. I’m so pleased you enjoyed ‘A Thousand Splendid..’ it’s the best book I’ve read outside of all the classics, wonderful.

    Happy reading in 2010 🙂

  6. Pingback: Journal Jar Question 38: What Is Your Favourite Book/Author & What Do Books Mean To You? « What’s Happening At My House

Leave a Reply

