Work, Work & More Work!

I’ve really enjoyed doing this 1,000 piece jigsaw over the last week.  It was rather sociable, particularly while Ashley was away last week, as Will sat on one side of the dining room table painting his War Hammer models, and I sat on the other doing my jigsaw, while we chatted.  I find jigsaws quite a good stress reliever, as well.  It definitely ticked my 20 minutes’ creativity a day checklist for last week.

Anyway, Monday again, and it’s half-term this week.  Which couldn’t have come at a worse time, as I’m snowed under with work.

My two school jobs are ticking along quite nicely – it’s now almost a year since I started the second one, and just last week, I finally managed to drag the governors in that school into the 21st century, and they’ve accepted having their paperwork sent out to them by email.  Hooray – this will make my job so much easier, and save me lots of photocopying and delivering time, too.  A good result.

I’ve also been working in Ashley’s office a lot recently, as they’re so busy and need help with the admin.  I’ve actually quite enjoyed it, and they pay me well, so it’s win-win, really.

And as well as all this, I’m doing some transcription work for a friend who’s doing a PhD – she has conducted about 30 hours’ worth of interviews which she needs transcribing, and I’ve just made a start on that.  As it’s a friend, I’m not charging loads, but it’s still a good hourly rate, and I can fit it round whatever else I’m doing too.

And, of course, I’m still eBaying.

There just aren’t enough hours in the day at the moment.

Will has his friend Alex over today for a sleepover, and they’re amusing themselves downstairs at the moment.  I’m going to take them out a bit later on to run off some steam in a big indoor play centre for a couple of hours (I will go armed with my book and some ear plugs – those places are SO LOUD!)

Mount Laundry is piling up quicker than I can get to the bottom of it, and I won’t even mention the ironing!

And Ashley’s mother has thoughtfully selected half-term week to go and stay with relations ‘up country’ as they say down here in Devon, (taken there by Ashley of course, as she won’t drive, or use public transport) so William can’t even go and spend a bit of time with her so I can go into the office.  Never mind, onwards and upwards!

We’re off to London at the weekend, and going to see Oliver, which was part of William’s birthday present from us, so really looking forward to that.  In the meantime, I must get on with the pile of stuff threatening to fall off the edge of my desk.

8 thoughts on “Work, Work & More Work!

  1. Busy girl! Wish I could give you a hand today…we’re having a national holiday, so I’m home on the computer while I hear my husband in the kitchen emptying the dishwasher. He can’t sit still…I have no problem sitting still. 🙂

  2. WOW seriously busy. Mind you – a jigsaw! last time I did one of those was at a holiday house in Cornwall when the weather was awful – about 8 years ago. I loved it. To me, its one of those things I feel you can only do if you have NOTHING else to do – so no idea how you managed to fit that in!

    • I have a rule that I stop work-work by 6.30 pm, otherwise I end up working all evening as well as all day. I did the jigsaw in the evenings last week, and some of yesterday to finish it off.

Leave a Reply

