Journal Jar Question 39. What Can Frighten You The Most, And Why?

I pulled this one out of the jar a few days ago, and have been thinking about it on and off ever since. 

 It’s a brilliant question for me, as I am one of the world’s greatest worriers – if there’s anything that can possibly be worried about, I’ll be first in the queue, as I’m sure my family and friends can vouch!

 Seriously, though ….. the thing that can frighten me the most is probably flying.  I really, really don’t like it at all, particularly taking off, and at the first sign of turbulence, I’m in a terrible state.  All the way back from St Lucia in 2008 (approx 8 hours, I think), it was turbulent, and I was so relieved when we landed and I could get off the plane, I can’t tell you.  Despite having flown all around the world, I never seem to get any less scared.  Having said that, my level of anxiety seems to be inversely proportional to the amount of alcohol flowing through my system, so that helps!  Ashley’s grandmother once gave me a Timazepam to take before a flight, but it was useless, so I just stick to the gin now (or champagne, if we’re flying business class!)

 I could go on about my more abstract fears all day, but for the sake of brevity, I’ve compiled a little list of some of my ‘favourite’ day to day worries.

  •  Terminal disease, particularly motor neurone disease and cancer.  Either me getting one of them, or one of my family.  (I had a temp job in the offices of a local hospice for a while a few years ago, which gave me plenty of ideas for new things to worry about in this category).
  •  Something happening to William (fairly non-specific this one, but there are any number of opportunities to worry).  I particularly don’t like it when he’s being driven somewhere by, for example, the parent of a friend who I don’t know very well.
  •  Car accidents.  Whenever somebody (usually Ashley) doesn’t turn up when I’m expecting them to, and I can’t get hold of them on a mobile phone, my mind has  them dead in a ditch at the side of the road faster than you can say ‘get a grip’.
  • Getting old and losing my marbles/one or both of my parents losing their marbles. 

 Like I said, I could go on. 

 What a cheery little post this turned out to be(!)

5 thoughts on “Journal Jar Question 39. What Can Frighten You The Most, And Why?

  1. My mum had a phobia of flying and avoided it most of her life – until my brother got engaged to an Argentian lass and the wedding was going to be in Buenos Aires! She had to brave it. She went to her doctors and they prescribed NLP and it worked! no one was more surprised than she was!

  2. I’m pretty good at worrying and the ‘what if’ scenarios too. Spend a good deal of time fretting about flying, go weak everytime we book a flight but my concern is more the nutter/terrorist on the plane than the accident. Hope your weekend is carefree, we both know that worrying about things doesn’t help and possibly puts lines on our faces.

  3. I don’t worry about the plane going down so much. Mostly I worry about the seat belt being too short. haha Once it is successfully buckled, I relax. I was on a flight once that flew through/over a terrible lightning storm…so amazing to watch the lightworks underneath instead of our normal perspective when safely grounded.

Leave a Reply

