Friday 5: Best 80s Films

I was 12 in 1980 and 22 in 1990, so the 80s was the decade of my formative years.  I’ve loved putting this week’s Friday 5 together, it’s been a real trip down memory lane! 

1.   Top Gun (1987)

My favourite film ever: gorgeous men in uniforms, strong women, love, loss, passion, betrayal, grief – and Tom Cruise singing “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling” to Kelly McGillis!   And apparently they’re talking about making a sequel.

2.   Dirty Dancing (1987)

If I had to pick just one reason why I love this movie, it would be that everybody’s had an “I carried a watermelon” moment.  Pure genius.  And the stage show is great, too.

3.   Beverley Hills Cop (1984)

Possibly the funniest film ever – Eddie Murphy is just brilliant.  I still laugh every time I see it.

“But I’m not some hotshot from out of town, I’m a small reporter from “Rolling Stone” magazine that’s in town to do an exclusive interview with Michael Jackson that’s gonna be picked up by every major magazine in the country. I was gonna call the article “Michael Jackson Is Sitting On Top of the World,” but now I think I might as well just call it “Michael Jackson Can Sit On Top of the World Just As Long As He Doesn’t Sit in the Beverly Palm Hotel ‘Cause There Ain’t No Niggers Allowed in There!”

4.   Pretty In Pink (1986)

Fantastic soundtrack, great cast and my favourite bit is Molly Ringwald putting on her lipstick with the assistance of her cleavage.  This film just has “80s” written all over it.  Brilliant.

5.   Purple Rain

Back in the day when Prince was called Prince, I mostly loved this movie because of the soundtrack.  I only have to hear a few notes of any of the songs on the Purple Rain album to be immediately transported back in time to the mid-80s, doing my A Levels and being in the Sixth Form at school.  And Prince, despite being so short and really rather effeminate, is strangely compelling as well.

Also deserving of an honourable mention, despite not quite making it into the top five, are: ET, Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence (it took me a while to think of a really good 80s British film for my list, but I managed it in the end!), The Breakfast Club, St Elmo’s Fire, When Harry Met Sally, Desperately Seeking Susan and Crocodile Dundee.

7 thoughts on “Friday 5: Best 80s Films

Leave a Reply

