Holiday Reading

Back from holiday yesterday, and it was certainly quite an eventful one – my father fell down the stairs, I was ill and grumpy for several days, and we had to do 4.30 am dash to the hospital for Ashley, who was subsequently diagnosed with a corneal abrasion and had to spend two days lying down in a darkened room.  Fun and games!

Between all the drama, I did manage to fit in some reading:

Tongue in Cheek by Fiona Walker.  She writes very similar books to Jilly Cooper, and I’ve read a couple of hers previously and quite enjoyed them.  This one, however, I found hard work, and thought it would have been far better at 400 pages rather than the overlong 700.  The “plot” (and I use the term loosely) got sillier and sillier the further through the book I got, and it was peopled by a large cast of – mostly charmless – characters with improbable names, pots of money and the morals of alleycats.  Not really to be recommended, I’m afraid, and I shan’t rush to read any more, Fiona – sorry!

A Prisoner of Birth by Jeffrey Archer.  Having waded through (all three volumes of) his prison diaries, which I found rather tedious, and having found his fiction over the last few years rather lacklustre as well, I have to say I LOVED this book – Jeffrey Archer is back to the glory days of such blockbusters and Kane & Abel and The Prodigal Daughter.  Whatever you think about him as a person, he’s a bloody good storyteller, and this was a brilliant story – absolutely unputdownable.

Misadventures of a Big Mouth Brit – Piers Morgan.  More scurrilous insider celebrity gossip from the man everybody loves to hate.  And some interesting insights into the American political system and the run up to Obama’s election as President as well.

4 thoughts on “Holiday Reading

  1. Pingback: Caroline’s 2010 Book Awards | What's Happening At My House

Leave a Reply

