47 Days

I’m almost embarrassed to admit that it is only 47 days until we are off on our big annual family holiday (courtesy of my parents), and this year the destination is the Maldives.  Somewhere I’ve always wanted to go, so I’m really excited about it.

As I’ve said before, September always feels like a month for new beginnings (something to do with the start of the new school year, and the onset of autumn, I think), and it also feels like a good time for setting a few goals, so here are mine for the next 47 days:

1.   Lose at least 1 stone (14 lbs).  Back to the Big Momma Challenge with a vengeance, starting yesterday.  I have weighed myself this morning, and have put on a couple of pounds on holiday, which wasn’t as much as I expected – hurrah!  Weekly posts on a Thursday again.

2.   Improve fitness – I am still suffering problems with my ankle, which I sprained quite badly several weeks ago.  However, my walking boots seem to support it perfectly (I HATE those bloody trainers ), so I have decided to keep my exercise regime very simple, and just do walking.  I aim to walk 10 miles per week, and have an iPhone app which keeps track of this (iBikenRun – amazingly clever!).    This may not seem like a very ambitious exercise goal to anybody with a modicum of fitness but, believe me, it is a massive one for me.

3.   Make £400 profit on eBay.

4.   Continue my Life Laundry and write weekly updates.

5.  Improve time management (and reduce procrastination) by timetabling slots for things that I need to do – I’ve tried this before with some success, so I’ll give it another go.

13 thoughts on “47 Days

  1. Nice to have you back if only for a short while, Caroline! You’ll lose that weight in time for your next hols, I’m sure of it.
    Isn’t catching up on blogs exhausting? You’ll be needing that Maldives trip even sooner. xxx

  2. Just saw your comment on my post about Staithes. Were you the one who went there on holiday? I know I read it on someone’s blog and promptly bookmarked it for future reference. I’ll link to your original post if you can send it to me.

  3. I have heard good things about the Maldives. Big honeymoon destination I believe.
    Since my kids went back to school I have made my self do something fitness wise every day. I try to do it after drop off so it becomes more part of my schedule rather than a thing to have to fit in.
    Treadmill works well – as does walking outside. I got a new iPod and have used it when walking/running.
    An episode of Law and Order (about 42 minutes) and can normally have walked/run about 3 or 4 miles. And I like watching it so that is good. Walking around the neighbourhood I have been listening to podcasts – which I have to get my 12 yr old to download for me.
    Hate to admit it, but even taking the scales out of the equation, I do feel better for it all. And clothes are fitting better too!

  4. I have been a complete slacker in my health challenge with my boss…he is doing really, really well…aargh! There is money enough riding on this that it would be truly painful to lose. I came home today and put on the lace-ups and spent some quality time on the treadmill (a mile and a half worth). I have got to get back in the groove!

    Wishing you much success!

  5. Pingback: 47 Days: Update | What's Happening At My House

Leave a Reply

