Friday 5: Make Up/Beauty Essentials

Every girl has them, doesn’t she?  Those favourite few products that you always use, come hell or high water.  Thees are mine:

1.  Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

I’ve tried them all – the ones with strange shaped wands, the one with the vibrating battery powered wand, the one with a primer at one end and the mascara at the other.  And I always, always come back to this one.  Always in dark brown, mind, never black.  Cheap, cheerful and in my humble opinion, the best of the lot!

 

2.   Body Shop Body Butter

My absolute favourite body lotion of all time (though I do admit to a bit of a thing about Johnson’s Holiday Skin as well).  I haven’t yet come across a fragrance in this range that I don’t like, and this is the one I’m using currently – it’s so nice, I want to eat my arm when I’ve put it on!

3.   Laura Mercier Mineral Make Up

I’m a recent convert to mineral make up, and I can’t believe I’m so late to the party!  The coverage is gives is just amazing.  I’ve tried several different makes, and I have to say in this case, the expensive one is the winner.   Anything that can make MY skin look so smooth and flawless has to be worth the small fortune I spent on it last time I was in Selfridges!  The mineral primer is fantabulous as well.

4.   Philosophy Soul Owner Exfoliating Foot Cream

This is simply the best foot cream ever.  Slather it onto horrible hard skinned feet before you go to bed, and you’ll wake up in the morning with gorgeous baby soft tootsies.  Seriously – you’ve GOT to try it – it’s brilliant.

5.   Olay Touch of Sunshine Daily Moisturiser

During autumn, winter and spring, I use this every morning, because it has a hint of sunless tanner in it, and I do like a bit of colour in my otherwise pallid and unhealthy looking face.  And it smells really nice, too.

Oooh, I really enjoyed this week’s Friday 5 – what are your essential beauty products?

I’ve remembered the Mr. Linky this week, so don’t forget to link (and comment) if you’re joining in with this week’s Friday 5:

15 thoughts on “Friday 5: Make Up/Beauty Essentials

  1. Oooh, that Philosophy stuff sounds amazing! Must put it on my list of things to try (no doubt after today there’ll be a very long list).

    And before I get told off again, I’m going to go Mr Linky now 😉

    xx

  2. Lots of people are moving to mineral make up particurlarly the foundation, I’m still not sure as I like a good cover! Is it that much better than liquid foundation?.

  3. I switched to minerals a couple of years ago, and people actually started commenting on my ‘lovely complexion.’ 🙂 LOVE it. And the mineral eye shadow too…colors go on in the actual shade they look in the jar. I actually use start to finish minerals…concealer (bisque), foundation, eye shadow, liner, brow color, and lip color (if you haven’t tried the Buxom lip colors you MUST!)

    I love, love, love Philosophy’s ‘Purity’ cleanser. I keep it in the shower, and wash my whole face with it…eyes too…no more separate eye-makeup remover!

  4. I agree about the body butter….heavenly! I also love the lip butters too!
    The Righteous Butter by Soap & Glory is also fantastic…I would thoroughly recommend. x

  5. Love philosophy and completely agree on the miracle of the foot cream…
    haven’t tried Laura Mercier mineral, but as I’m always eternally searching for the perfect foundation you may have just tempted me… I may just book a makeover this week!…
    have a great weekend… Tx

  6. I’m ready to delete this if I get told off, but I’m 40 next year and terrified so started having botox 2 years ago and honestly I like the effects but too frightened to come out apart from here where I am relatively anonymous, I know its shallow and stupid but there you go:-)

Leave a Reply

