Journal Jar Q67. What Is Your Least Favourite Household Chore? And Your Favourite?

I am going to shamelessly reproduce, word for word, a meme that I did back in August 2008 on this blog (so long ago that I can’t imagine anybody remembers it, other than me!

Anyway, it answers the question (and lots of others) rather well, I thought, and therefore probably deserves another airing.  Feel free to join in if you’d like to.

 ~Aprons–y/n If y, what does your fav. look like?
I’ve got one in the kitchen drawer – a green one – but I never ever wear it – naughty! I should do really, perhaps I’ll make an effort to do so more.

B ~ Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
I’ve only recently got into baking. I’ve just asked my eight year old son what his favourite thing is that I bake, and he says Peanut Butter & Jam Cookies.

C ~ Clothes line?
Yes, couldn’t live without it – I don’t have a tumble dryer any more, so dry washing outside whenever I can. It never smells the same when you have to dry it inside.

D ~ Donuts–Have you ever made them?
Never – but I love eating them – does that count?!

E ~ Everyday–One homemaking thing you do everyday?
Make the beds – I can’t get on with my day until all the beds are made and looking nice.

F ~ Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Yes – two actually. And they’re both always full!

G ~ Garbage Disposer?
No, but I’ve got a composting bin …

H ~ Handbook–What is your favourite homemaking resource?
I really love the Old Style Forum on Moneysavingexpert.com – I’ve picked up loads of really good information from that over the last few years.

I ~ Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
Really love it – one of my favourite housework jobs. I always iron with This Morning on the television, and I just love how the pile of ironing looks when it’s all done – a very satisfying feeling.

J ~ Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
No – but my whole office looks like a junkyard at the moment! I’m intending to give it a good sort out very soon.

K ~ Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
The tiles are green, the worktops are granite – black with a green fleck, the kitchen units are pale wood (beech, I think), and the floor is oak. Walls are white.

L ~ Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
I really like cooking – trying new recipes and making old favourites – food is a passion in our house!

M ~ Mop–y/n?
No.

N ~ Nylons, machine or hand wash?
Don’t have any – horrid, horrid fabric! Reminds me of the sheets at my grandmother’s house when I used to go and stay with her, and wake up all hot and sticky – yuck!

O ~ Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
A bit of both, depending on what’s cooking.

P ~ Pizza–What do you put on yours?
I’m quite partial to pepperoni and mushrooms – and lots of mozzarella of course!

Q ~ Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
Read a few pages of my book – and if I have more than 10 minutes, or it’s particularly cold, I get into bed to do so.

R ~ Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
No – I store all my recipes electronically.

T ~ Tablecloths or Placemats?
Both, or sometimes just one or the other.

U ~ Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
Generally not too bad, but needs a bit of a tidy at the moment.

V ~ Vacuum–How many times per week?
Once, or twice in the heavy traffic areas.

W ~ Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
Generally three, but I have large capacity machine, which takes almost double the amount a regular machine will take.

X’s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
Yes, and there’s no feeling more satisfying than crossing off the last item and knowing that I’ve done everything I set out to do that day. Doesn’t happen that often, though!

Y ~ Yard–y/n? Who does what?
My husband does all the gardening, and I sit on a deckchair and enjoy it!

ZZZ’s–what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Making sure that cats have water and biscuits, and locking the door. I love getting into my bed at the end of the day.

2 thoughts on “Journal Jar Q67. What Is Your Least Favourite Household Chore? And Your Favourite?

  1. I too frequent the oldstyle boards, and i adore ironing,Iit’s the perfect switch off for me, magic fm on the radio and having lovely ironed piles of clothing at the end- bliss!!

    Sharron xx

Leave a Reply

