50 Questions Which Will Free My Mind (Apparently): Part 1

Amy linked to this from her blog the other day, and as I’ve been a little bit uninspired blog-wise of late, I thought I’d have a go at it.  Here’s Part 1.

1.   How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Don’t understand the question – is this about how old I look or how old I feel? If it’s about how old I look, then 92, particularly after a big night out, and if it’s about how old I feel, generally about 12.

2.   Which is worse, failing or never trying?

Never trying. Definitely.

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Speak for yourself. I do fewer and fewer things I don’t like, and try and do most of the things I do like on a regular basis. So there.

4.  When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Let’s hope not. Although some would say I talk a lot.

5.  What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

I’d like to eradicate poverty. Proper, not-having-a-home or anything-to-eat type poverty. Not the not-having-a-Nintendo-Wii type “poverty” that we have the UK.

6.  If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

Something that utilises my organisational skills (ie I boss people about), doesn’t require me to interact with any tossers, and only requires me to work two hours a month.

7.  Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

My work/life balance (to wheel out one of those rather overused phrases of the moment) is very satisfactory, thank you.

8.  If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

I’d already be dead! I guess I’d have got married earlier and had children earlier.

9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

99.9%. What can I say, I’m a control freak. (But if the question is actually trying to ask if I believe in fate, then yes, I probably do – but it’s about the choices you make when fates throws things at you, innit?)

10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

 A healthy balance of both, but the scales are probably weighted more in the favour of doing things right.

11.  You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do?

I’d wait until they’d finished bitching to see what they were all going to say, and then tell them that she was a close friend of mine and enjoy watching their faces crumble. This has actually happened to me in real life.

12.  If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

Life is short. Make the most of it.

13.  Would you break the law to save a loved one?

Yes. Next.

14.  Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

No. But I’ve seen a lot of insanity over the years.

15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

Write thank you letters for gifts.

16.  How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?

Because everybody’s different. Wrong of course, but different nonetheless.

17.  What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? What’s holding you back?

Build a house. Money, and not having found the right plot. Yet.

18.  Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?

No, I don’t think I am. I’m more a blow-up-instantly-and-then-get-over-it kinda gal. I don’t hold grudges, and don’t find it difficult to move on.

19.  If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

Somewhere that the sun shines more than it does here, and where English is the first language. Australia maybe.

20. Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?

Only when I’m being childish and/or impatient. So yeah, every time really. No, of course it doesn’t make the elevator any faster.

21.  Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?

Neither, thanks.

22.  Why are you, you?

Nature, nurture and genetics, I guess.

23.  Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

Yes. Though sadly for me, a lot of the friends I’ve had over the years haven’t been.

24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near
you?

Probably when a good friend moves away, because if you lose touch with a good friend who lives close by, then there’s a reason behind it, isn’t there?

25. What are you most grateful for?

My health and my family.

Part 2 coming soon – I know, I know – you can hardly bear the anticipation, can you?

6 thoughts on “50 Questions Which Will Free My Mind (Apparently): Part 1

  1. Some of your answers made me laugh – especially 14. And I am with you on #15 – I do too and get my kids to.
    Will look out for part 2!!

  2. Pingback: Questions That Will Free My Mind « This Year I…

Leave a Reply

