50 Questions Which Will (Apparently) Free My Mind: Part 2

26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

Wow.  That’s SO hard.  I think I’d have to go for losing all my old memories, because it at least if you were able to make new ones, you’d be moving forward.  Without that ability you’d be stuck forever in the past, wouldn’t you?

27.  Is is possible to know the truth without challenging it first?

Depends on the question. 

28.  Has your greatest fear ever come true?

Not yet.  But statistically it’s extremely likely to happen one day.

29.  Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now?

Yes.  And no, of course not.  To use an old adage, Time Is A Great Healer.

30.  What is your happiest childhood memory? What makes it so special?

Childhood Christmases hold a very special place in my heart.  As there’s a similar question in my Journal Jar, I shall not elaborate further at this point.

31.  At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

There are some things that just aren’t suitable for writing about on one’s blog.  This is one.

32.  If not now, then when?

Later?  Another day?  Nah, you’re right, now’s best.

33.  If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?

My sanity, my self-respect, my home, my shoe collection….. need I go on?

34.  Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best
conversation ever?

No.  Never.  Unlikely to happen either, I would think.

35.  Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?

Because religion breeds fanatacism (sp?)  and extremists.   Not always, but often enough to cause wars.  And also because people use religion as an excuse for warmongering.


36.  Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?

No, life just is not that black and white, is it?  There are of course some things that are definitely evil – paedophilia, murder in cold blood etc –  and some things that are definitely good – Mother Teresa (Lordy, is that the only example of good I can think of?!) – but the majority are somewhere in the middle.

37.  If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?

Yeah, but mostly because I’m pretty sick of it anyway and fancy a change.  If the right replacement job came along tomorrow, I’d quit in the bilnk of an eye.  But if I liked my new job, I wouldn’t necessarily quit if I won a million pounds. 

38.  Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?

The same amount, but with a bit more variety, please.

39.  Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?

Not all day, but certain things like getting up when the alarm goes off, doing the school run etc, get a bit repetitive.  That’s life, innit?  If it was really exciting all the time, the exciting bits wouldn’t be so exciting, would they?  (Does that make sense?)

40.  When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

Pardon?

41.  If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

I’d spend the day with my family, and the evening getting riotously pissed with some really good friends.

42.  Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or
famous?

Categorically not.  Seriously, does anybody answer yes to this question?

43.  What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

Making the most of every opportunity and creating plenty of your own opportunities, too.


44.  When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?

If you definitely know it’s right, then now.  But the rightness of most things is dependent on the risks and rewards involved in them, so I’d go ahead with the calculating myself.

45.  If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?

Who says we are?

46.  What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

Nothing at all.  I’ve no problem with being judged.    (Although on second thoughts, I might wear my Ugg boots outside the house …)

47.  When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?

Last night in bed, because I was struggling to breathe as I have a cold at the moment.

48.  What do you love? Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?

My family, Starbucks gingerbread lattes, finishing my Christmas shopping, sunshine sparkling on frosty fields, taking a photo that comes out exactly how you wanted it to in your head, toasted crumpets with Marmite.  And that’s just today’s list.

49.  In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday? What about the day before that? Or
the day before that?

Only if I look it up on my blog, I imagine.  Anyway, a wise man once said “We don’t remember days, we remember moments.”  Very true, that.

50.  Decisions are being made right now. The question is: Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

I’m making them.  Oh, I am SO making them.  Told you I was a control freak.

One thought on “50 Questions Which Will (Apparently) Free My Mind: Part 2

  1. These questions made me laugh, and I loved (LOVED) your answers to the really crazy ones. Definitely wear your Uggs outside the house. After all, they’re warm and made to be worn outside. 😉

Leave a Reply

