Caroline’s 2010 Book Awards

I haven’t read as much this year as in the last couple of years, but plan to remedy that next year, with a bit of goal setting – watch this space for more info on that.  Meanwhile, here are my book awards for this year.

Best Read of the Year

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – really different, brilliantly written and fabulous characters.  Definitely my favourite read this year.

Honourable mention must go to What My Best Friend Did by Lucy Dawson, which I also loved, and wrote about here.

 Biggest Disappointment

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I struggled through the first half before giving up.   As is quite often the case with me, the more hyped and recommended the book, the less I enjoy it.  Clearly, I have peculiar taste!

 The Five People you Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom must also get a mention here – had been recommended by a couple of blogging friends, and I just didn’t enjoy it at all.  I did manage to get to the end of this one, however.

Best Autobiography

Has to be Misadventures of  A Big Mouth Brit by Piers Morgan: I do love his books, they’re something of a guilty pleasure, really – rather like sitting down with a glass of something fizzy, a copy of Heat magazine and a packet of chocolate Hob Nobs!

Also enjoyed No More Tomorrows by Schapelle Corby – the true story of a young woman sentenced to over 20 years in prison in Bali for drug smuggling.  She insists she is innocent but, innocent or guilty, how on earth do you resign yourself to a fate of so many years in such terrible conditions?

Favourite New (To Me) Author

I really enjoyed Since I Don’t Have You by Louise Candlish, and have a couple more of her books waiting to be read.

Worst Book by an Author I’ve Previously Enjoyed

 Tongue in Cheek by Fiona Walker, which I wrote about here.

3 thoughts on “Caroline’s 2010 Book Awards

  1. I was going to include my hits and misses on my ‘best of 2010’. Will probably get those two you recommended (Piers – who is everywhere here seeing as he is the new Larry King) and the Corby one – although I think I have read something v v similar.
    I am reading ‘ROOM’ by Emma Donoghue. It is AMAZING. You HAVE to read it. You will be addicted.
    Also loved ‘The Help’ very much.
    (My reading room is all finished btw) – so now just HAVE TO READ!!!!

  2. its funny but I loved Eat Pray Love and a really good friend of mine whom I’d have thought would like it to, hated it A LOT. Books are most odd things. I agree with they hype thing though, it can really put you off.

Leave a Reply

