Cheating

All over the blogosphere I’ve been reading about wonderful homemade goodies that people have been preparing for Christmas, and admiring all the beautiful pictures of truffles, chutneys and jams, homemade liqueurs and all manner of other lovely things.

Usually, I’m right in the thick of it myself – I don’t think a Christmas has gone by for the last 15 years when I haven’t at the very least produced some of Delia’s Christmas chutney and some sort of festive foody gift for everybody.

But this year, I just haven’t been feeling it … not a jar of chutney, not a single choc or sweetie, not even a batch of mince pies has been made in this household this Christmas.

My cake tin is full of Sainsbury’s mince pies; my freezer is groaning under the weight of M&S party food for Xmas Day lunch (we have our Christmas dinner in the evening, which Ashley cooks); pudding this evening is an M&S chocolate fudge log (selected by William), and my Christmas pudding is courtesy of Tesco’s Finest range.   And there’s a huge bowl full of Quality Street where normally homemade chocs and sweeties reside.

Do I feel guilty?  Not. In. The. Slightest.  In fact it’s something of a revelation to me how unguilty I’m feeling about the whole thing.  It’s great!

I do however, have my parents arriving for Christmas at lunchtime today, and I need to do a large pile of ironing, go shopping for a few last bits and bobs, get the spare bedroom ready, and hoover the house.  Not to mention washing my hair, painting my toenails and probably watching a cheeky episode of Grey’s Anatomy (it’s all go, you know!).

Merry Christmas everybody! x

5 thoughts on “Cheating

  1. I don’t think that’s cheating – that’s just sensible! We’d run ourselves into the ground if we handmade everything and believed all the hype that if you don’t do it all yourself then you’re a domestic failure and Christmas is ruined.

    Glad to hear you had a good time and you’re right, it’s a lot of madness for one day! xx

  2. Hope you had a great Christmas. I used to make my own Pudding using a Delia Smith recipe but to be honest it is so much cheaper to buy one, the cost of ingredients is equivalent to a weeks shopping for one! I do however, always make my own bread sauce (again one of Delia’s) as the packet stuff is tasteless!

Leave a Reply

