Shopping, Patience & Packing

Shopping for a new summer wardrobe with an 11 year old boy was never going to be a bundle of laughs, but boy was my patience tried today.   Unfortunately, gone are the days when William would wear whatever I chose for him, and he now wants to select his own clothes (although he doesn’t want to pay for them, unfortunately!).

So today we headed into town and spent a painful couple of hours with William rejecting almost every single item in every single shop.  We eventually came home with one pair of jeans, one t shirt and one pair of shorts.

It’s no secret that when I was pregnant with William, I desperately wanted a daughter, and although I wouldn’t change him for the world, I do miss the shopping opportunities for and with a little girl.  So I get my ‘girly’ fix buying clothes for my favourite niece, Sophie, who’s six, and absolutely loves her clothes.

As we’re spending this weekend with Sophie and her family, a little something slipped into my shopping basket in Next today – I can’t wait to see her wearing it.

A two night weekend away at Moonfleet Manor necessitates two evening outfits, and I’ve just spent a happy half hour selecting them – one of my favourite things is packing to go away.

Black satin cropped trousers – Next; black beaded top – charity shop, leopard print shoes – charity shop, statement silver necklace – sale at Dorothy Perkins, hoop earrings – Silver By Mail.

Black wide leg trousers – Evans, floral printed floaty top – Evans, nude peep toe platforms – Aldo (one of my favourite pairs of shoes EVER), various shell and pearl jewellery.

We are off early tomorrow morning to have a wander around Bridport in the morning and a light lunch somewhere with a view of the sea, and then heading to Moonfleet to meet up with the family.

Have a fabulous weekend, whatever you’re doing, and long may this lovely sunshine last. x

3 thoughts on “Shopping, Patience & Packing

  1. If it makes you feel any better, my 13 yr old girl has just got rid of a lot of stuff in her wardrobe which she liked last year, still fits but ‘is not her style’ anymore.
    And my 10 yr old is also now fussy about what I have got him – so I HEAR YA!!!!

Leave a Reply

