Ups & Downs

Before I went away on holiday, I’d was feeling rather …. I don’t know, a bit uninspired, a bit as if I’m not making the most of my time, and a bit directionless and generally … blah.

It’s difficult to put my finger on it: I’m not unhappy, I’m just a bit … bored, maybe?  I wrote back in January about how I’d love to go back to work in an office again, but it’s just not practical at the moment.

It’s the same with my blog – I used to be choosing a post to write each day from any number of ideas inside my head, but the last couple of months I’ve really struggled to think of anything to write about at all.

Don’t get me wrong – I have a lovely life, a great family, lots of friends, plenty of money, fantastic holidays – I really don’t have an awful lot to moan about.

I think I just need to find some motivation, some get up and go, some good old fashioned oomph!

I probably need to spend less time in front of this computer, and more time having a life.

I need to get out and about more (I think I spend far too much time at home alone which, while I love my own company, could be a contributing factor to this blahness I’m feeling).

I need to make plans, fill my diary, socialize more, do some exercise, lose some weight …. set myself some goals!!

So, this evening I’m going to sit down with a pen and paper and make myself some short-term goals for the months of May and June, and tomorrow I’m going to blog about them.

There – that’s one plan in place already!

11 thoughts on “Ups & Downs

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I miss the motivation and the companionship of working in an office environment. Also the feel of a job well done. I have been “retired” for seven years now and do I get bored……yes. Definitely getting the seven year itch.

  2. oh yeah I know exactly what you mean!! Feeling the “blah” myself a bit lately…I think a list of fun projects/goals is a great idea! I may join you! 🙂 xxx

  3. There’s nothing like coming back from a trip and reassessing everything. Can’t wait to read what your plans are, just don’t give up the blog. xxx

  4. I know that feeling, too. It’s really easy to fall into a rut when you’re home alone a lot. Sometimes I really have to give myself a kick up the jacky and just get out and do stuff. Anything, just as long as it gets me out and away from these same four walls (and computer screen).

  5. Oh Hun … When’s your next trip to town?… It would be lovely to meet up… Sales start mid June… I know how you like a bargain!.. Hope the list is progressing nicely, a lovely glass of red and a bar of green & blacks can help!.. Thanks for the lovely comments xx

  6. I really need to get back to making a list of short term goals. The most successful I’ve been is when I keep a steno pad, with one page per week dedicated to goals…a major one for the month at the top of the page…followed by three somewhat lesser ones for the week…followed by my everyday to-dos. I feel so much better when I can see progress I’ve made.

    Thanks for the reminder. I SO need to kick things into a higher gear around here.

  7. Don’t slack on the blogging!!!!!!
    Reassessing your daily life is a great idea. I went through 6-month phase of feeling exactly the way you are a year back. and this was despite the fact that I had a very demanding job and hardly a few hours a day to do anything extra. But then I realized that I was so used to being busy during the week that i felt that i was wasting my weekend if I didn’t get out. So I got myself some magnets and stuck a list of fun stuff to do over the weekend on my cupboard. Though I managed to do only half of it, I now feel much energized (Psssst: some of those things on the list were pretty silly :P).

  8. I’ve been feeling the blah-ness lately too – perhaps it’s the change of seasons or something? Maybe it’s just life! Puhlease don’t give up blogging though – love seeing the bargains you get at the boot sale each week.

Leave a Reply

