The Alphabet Meme

I saw this over at Victoria’s lovely blog a while ago and as I didn’t have any inspiration as to what to write about today, I thought I’d have a go at it, too.

A. Age:

42, going to be 43 this year.  But 43 is the new 20 (or something.  Isn’t it?)

B. Bed size:

King size.  With a lovely, LOVELY goosedown mattress topper.  Oh, how I love my bed.

C. Chore you dislike:

Cleaning the oven.  And hoovering the stairs.

D. Dogs:

No, thanks.  Two cats, and a new addition to the family as of last weekend – a baby Hermann’s tortoise, Freddy.

E. Essential start to your day:

A large cup of builders’ tea in my big spotty mug.

F. Favorite colour:

Blue.  There are so many different shades of blue, and it’s also the colour of jeans.  And William and Ashley both look lovely in pale blue.

G. Gold or silver:

Platinum, if you’re offering.  But back in the real world, I definitely prefer silver to gold.

H. Height:

About 5’3” I think.  But I haven’t measured myself/been measured for years.

I. Instruments you play(ed):

The violin.  Briefly.  And very badly.

J. Job.

I work as Clerk to Governors in two local primary schools (very part-time).  Though it’s soon to be only one, as I’ve just handed in my notice to one of them, and replaced it with a voluntary job working in a local charity shop on Wednesday afternoons.

K. Kids:

One, William, aged 11.

L. Live:

In a little village near Newton Abbot in South Devon.

M. Mum’s name:

Suzanne.  Which I think is a lovely name, and quite unusual when she was born, I think.  Her middle name is Mary, as is mine – a name I dislike intensely.

N. Nicknames:

None that spring to mind.  Although I was called Dumbo at school due to my sticky-out ears, which I had pinned back when I was about 14.

O. Overnight hospital stays:

See previous answer.  Only other time was after I had William.

P. Pet peeves:

People who have long conversations on their mobiles when you’re sitting having a coffee/lunch/dinner with them.  So.  Bloody.  Rude.  I’ve actually walked out of a café when a friend of mine took the fourth call on her mobile in less than the space of time it had taken us to drink one cup of coffee.

Q. Quote from a movie:

“Your ego is writing cheques your body can’t cash” from Top Gun.

R. Righty or lefty:

Lefty

S. Siblings:

1 brother, Nick, 4 years younger than me.

T. Time you wake up:

The alarm goes off at 6.50 am on a school day, earlier on a car boot sale day, and as I’m a morning person anyway, I’m usually up and about by 7.30 ish, even when I don’t have to be.

U. Underwear:

I beg your pardon?

V. Vegetables you don’t like:

I don’t have a violent objection to any veg, but I’m not overkeen on parsnips.

W. What makes you run late:

‘Just finishing off’ a blog post, usually!  Though I’m very rarely late – can’t bear it.

X. X-rays you’ve had:

Mostly my teeth.

Y. Yummy food you make:

I made a really lovely dinner from Jamie’s 30-Minute meals the other night when my friend Becs and her son came over for dinner – “Superfast Beef Hash, Jacket Potatoes with sour cream, goddess salad and lovely butterbeans with bacon”. It went down very well indeed.

Z. Zoo animal favourites:

Giraffes.  They’re amazing.  Although I always look at them thinking what lovely shoes/handbags their skin would make.  That’s not quite right, is it?

10 thoughts on “The Alphabet Meme

  1. I hate it when people have long conversations when their in my company, too. If I’ve taken the time to meet them for lunch, invite them round, visit them or whatever then I expect them to be talking to me, not somebody I can neither hear nor see. Very, very rude.

  2. Cleaning the oven – urgh – awful job, mine is just crying out to be done but I keep putting it off which isn’t going to make the job any better!!!

    Have a great weekend,

    Victoria xx

  3. Fun meme! I’m about the same height as you and I hate the same chores lol. And you’re much braver than me, walking out on someone who can’t put their phone down 😀

Leave a Reply

