Six Things I Never Thought I’d Hear Myself Say …

It is, without doubt, a truism that we all turn into our parents eventually.

And yes, it seems to be happening to me as well.

Here are just some of the things that I find myself saying on almost a daily basis which, whenever I say them, I can just hear my mother saying the exact same words several decades ago.

1.  Hmmm, and what would you do if *insert name as appropriate* told you to run under a bus?

2.   How many times do I have to ask you to tidy your bedroom?

3.   Because I said so.

4.   Is there a reason every light in the house has been left on?

5.   Why is that mug still on the shelf in your bedroom?

6.  For the love of God, will somebody else in this bloody household other than me carry some of this stuff up the stairs rather than just walking past it !!!

8 thoughts on “Six Things I Never Thought I’d Hear Myself Say …

  1. Highest praise ever received from my daughter: “I guess you weren’t so bad.” Of course i had to wait till she was a parent herself to hear this. 🙂

  2. They are so true, especially the one about the stairs !
    If I ever say- I will wear head to toe beige clothes today, please shoot me !

  3. Will certainly keep an eye out for another tshirt for you.
    It’s a Flipback one from BHS. I had a quick look on their web site and it’s not a current one, but on page 3 of the selection there is something about parents on another tshirt.
    Lisa x

Leave a Reply

