Holiday Reading

As usual, I spent a good proportion of my holiday with my nose inside a book, so I thought I’d share some mini reviews of the books that I read while I was away.

From Notting Hill With Love Actually by Ali McNamara

This was quite a fun, easy read, very chick-lit in its style, and with a strong movie theme running all the way through it, which appealed to me as I love my films.  The characters were particularly interesting and really well drawn, as there was more to a lot of them than initially met the eye.  A good 7/10.

The Stepmothers’ Support Group by Sam Baker

I loved the very modern themes (and dilemmas) of blended families and step-parenting that this book tackles, although if you’re looking for anything deeper  than a light holiday read, you may be disappointed.  Again, an interesting set of characters, largely likeable, and a good, pacy plot with plenty going on.  8/10.

Fear The Worst by Linwood Barclay

Have loved his books since his first was a Richard & Judy Summer Read winner a couple of years back, and this one didn’t disappoint.  I often think that thriller writers ‘go off’ a bit after the first couple of books, but this third one was just as page-turning and enjoyable.  The plot centres around a girl who goes missing and her father’s efforts to find out what’s happened to her, and the twists and turns of the plots certainly kept me turning the pages.  8/10.

The Bay At Midnight by Diane Chamberlain

Loved, loved, LOVED this book.  I found her writing very similar in style to Jodi Picoult, and the story which centres on the mystery surrounding the death over 30 years previously of a 17 year old girl, is told in turn by her two sisters and her mother.  The plot does jump around in timescale going from past to present and back again constantly, but this totally works, and the book is so evocatively written that the places and people just sprang to life inside my mind.  Fabulous.  I’m delighted to report that the author has written lots of other books as well, and I’ve already added a good number to my Amazon wishlist.  9/1o.

I also started reading another book (All About Laura by Susannah Bates) that I didn’t like at all, and gave up after about 70 pages.

Have you read anything good lately?

9 thoughts on “Holiday Reading

  1. You only managed four books…………….shame on you! Will get The Bay at Midnight on your recommendation.

  2. I like the sound of the Bay at Midnight, so will add that to my list of ‘hopefully I’ll get through them’ summer holiday reads. I’ve just started reading Blue Eyed Boy by Joanne Harris. I’m only a couple of short chapters into it but so far it’s not grabbing me. I’ll give it another 20 or 30 pages…

  3. Will definitely be picking sone of those… Now need to convert you to a Kindle!… met Ali McNamara recently for coffee she was lovely.. Hope the holiday was lovely & restful… Have you any plans to come to London in the holidays?.. Tx

  4. Thanks for this post! I’m just coming up for a few weeks of blissful holiday so am looking for plenty to read. I’m hoping to give Bay at Midnight a try! I’ll let you know how I get on!

  5. How on earth do you manage to read so quickly? It takes me ages just to get through one book and I read quite a bit. You must be a speed reader!

    I prefer Diane Chamberlain to Jodi Picoult. Have you read ‘The Lost Daughter’? I absolutely loved that one, as did my daughter.

Leave a Reply

