The Aftermath

After an EPIC (particularly for me) lie-in until after 9 o’clock this morning, I must admit that I awoke with a slight headache and  that ‘fuzzy around the edges’ feeling that makes one aware that one’s alcohol intake the previous evening was more plentiful than strictly necessary …

So it’s been a lazy day.

Didn’t make the car boot sale (again) – haven’t been to one for a month now, and THAT hasn’t happened in as long as I can remember.  I’ll be getting withdrawal symptoms soon.

Last night was a great success – the food went down a storm, the kids behaved and had lots of fun together without getting under our feet at all, and a good time was had by all.  The washing up (have just emptied the final load out of the dishwasher – 3.30 pm) was HORRIFIC – we did Spanish tapas which, whilst lovely, does involve mountainous piles of pans, serving dishes etc, and a kitchen that looks like Armageddon afterwards.

Anyway, everybody was most appreciative and a good time seemed to be had by all, so it was worth all the work.  I meant to take a couple of photographs of the house, as it looked so lovely lit by fairy lights and loads of candles, with the table all nicely laid,  but I completely forgot, so here’s some pictures of lovely gifts from our guests, instead!

Yummy chocolate truffles ….

Pretty flowers ….

More yummy chocs – nearly all gone, as we opened them to have with coffee last night ….

And a lovely tub of winter flowers, very kindly made for me by Sarah, who owns a nursery (garden nursery, not kiddy nursery …).  They add a perfect splash of colour outside my back door.

They also all came laden with wine and beer – fabulous people – they all get my seal of approval as excellent guests!

And I haven’t shouted at William at all today, just for the record!  Hopefully he won’t be scarred for life by yesterday’s appalling parenting!

3 thoughts on “The Aftermath

  1. Glad it turned out ok as it sounded a bit stressful getting ready Would have loved to have seen the candles/fairy lights look too.

    What fillings did you put in the jacket potatoes btw? Which no one understands over here as I just learnt this week.

  2. So pleased they brought gifts. There seems to have been a distinct turn where people dont seem to think of bringing a small gift for the host. I was always taught that and thought it was the norm until I moved to Wiltshire. where when ever I go anywhere, I give a small gift. and it is met with wide eyes and OMG! you gave me a gift? and the other guests looking at me as if I am a suck up or crazy!

    Sounds like everyone had a great time!

Leave a Reply

