Frock It!

There’s been a lot of celeb style to sift through over the last few weeks what with awards season and the new fashion collections, so you might want to make yourself comfortable with a cup of tea, as this is going to be rather a l-o-n-g post!

Firstly, must mention that I’m getting a bit sick of seeing QUITE so much cleavage.  The following three ladies would do well to remember that less is, sometimes, more.

Eva Longoria.  I do hope you had plenty of tape sticking that dress down, Eva.

Kelly Brook – not only is this dress revealing far more than I think is appropriate, it looks as though it’s squashing her terribly – is it even the right size?

Kate Winslet.  I actually quite like this Jenny Packham dress, other than the ridiculously low neckline.

Moving on, I thought we’d take a look at some of my favourite outfits worn by women over 40 recently.  Firstly, Melanie Griffith …

 

I thought she looked amazing in this deep red at the Goya Cinema Awards.  Although if I was married to Antonia Banderas, I’d probably be just as radiant as Melanie is!  Love the jewellery, too – just a great look altogether.  Best I’ve seen her looking for ages.

This was my absolute favourite of all the Oscar dresses on Sunday evening.  Never mind all the 20-somethings in their sequins and sparkles, I thought Glenn Close outdid them all in this green ensemble.

Helen Mirren attending the Dolce & Gabbana A/W 2012 show (for which she eschewed the Oscars this year, interestingly).  Fab dress and jacket for spring, love the leopard print shoes and handbag, and this is also a perfect example of how a haircut can take 15 years off you.  Go Helen!

And finally in my ‘older women’ section, Helena Bonham Carter recently went to Buckingham Palace to receive her CBE from the Queen …

Helena chose this Vivienne Westwood suit for the occasion, and although I’m not a fan of her ‘style’ as a rule, I loved the fact that with this fashion choice, she remained true to her somewhat , shall we say, ‘eclectic’ clothing choices, but still looked appropriate for the occasion.  And that hat is fab!

Let’s pause in the praise stakes for a minute to look at a couple of recent horrors:

Jasmine Guinness in a net creation that looks similar to something I had in my dressing up box back in the 70s.

Fergie at the BAFTAs in orange lace with unattractive underwear on display.  Yuk.

And Sam Cam hosting a reception at 10 Downing Street recently.  Now I have to say that I do like the fact Mrs C has embraced some colour for a change, so full marks for that, but the design of this dress is just so dated and dowdy.  I actually quite like Sam, she seems like a pleasant enough woman, but I really wish she’d do something with her hair and wear something less frumpy, as I think she’d look great.

Now, to end, a selection of my favourite dresses over the last few weeks.  In no particular order …

 

Abby Clancy at the Brits.  Apart from the fact that I have no idea why Abby (former model and current WAG) was at the Brit Awards, this was by far my favourite Brits outfit in an otherwise lacklustre fashion evening.  Love the whole 60s vibe thing she’s got going on.

Lily Collins at the Vanity Fair Oscars party.  I just love this dress – it’s a little bit different, and is a perfect example of not having to expose your chest/legs to look lovely.

I’m not a fan of Gwynneth – far too earnest and macrobiotic for my liking – but I thought her Oscars outfit was great.  A bit unusual and very elegant.  Top marks.

Octavia Spencer at the Oscars, showing us that larger ladies can look just as fabulous as their skinny counterparts.  I WANT this dress.

And finally, Katy Perry at the Grammys.  If I ignore the fact that she’s matched her hair to her dress, this is just a perfect look.  I’m a big fan of pale blue/green shades, and I think this is the best I’ve ever seen Katy look.  I want this dress, too.

Phew!  If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading, and I’d love to hear whether you agree with my thoughts or not?

8 thoughts on “Frock It!

  1. I hate those really low cut dresses too. How about JLo at the Oscars? Ugh!
    Helen Mirren always seems to look great. I do like Glenn Close’s dress too. I’m not a fan of lace too much (on myself of course) but some of the lace dresses were very nice. What was Fergie thinking? That has to be the worst I’ve seen her look.

  2. I absolutely agree with your comments about cleavage. Why do they feel the need to reveal quite so much? Kelly Brook looks quite uncomfortable in her dress. Glenn Close looks wonderful, and I quite like Melanie Griffiths, though it’s not my favourite. Helen Mirren looks lovely, I agree, but almost anyone else putting together that mix of patterns wouldn’t look half as good. I’m afraid I can’t agree with you about Helena Bonham Carter – I just don’t like it at all. Of course, she could have been a lot worse! What WAS Fergie thinking – yuk, yuk, yuk. I wholeheartedly agree about Sam Cam. She could look so beautiful, but for some reason never seems to make the most of herself. I’m not keen on either Abby Clancy’s or Lily Collins’ dresses this week, though I like the modest neckline of Lily’s, it’s just the colour and pattern that I’m not keen on. I agree that Gwynneth Paltrow and Octavia Spencer look fabulous and Katy Perry’s dress is nice in a 1950’s sort of way.

    Thanks for another interesting week of Frocks. 🙂

  3. I must reiterate a big thank you for Frocks, always so enjoyable.

    Now I must take issue over Melanie Griffiths number. When I first saw it I thought OMG you have got it in one of the “what ever does she look like” spots but then I saw that you liked it! Sorry but I think it is ghastly. Completely over the top with those red flowers and high collar. Completely drowns her. I do agree though about all the clevage totally tacky.

    For me Gwyneth´s was the winner of the night understated and elegant.

    As for SamCam she looked like a battenburg cake.

  4. I too thought Gwynnie and Glenn Close were the best dressed at the Oscars… Eva’s shoes look too big for her too. Have seen this a lot… almost like the stars wear shoes too big as they match but really aren’t the right size.
    I loved they style of Katy Perry’s gown but thought the baby blue colour a bit weird…..

    Oh to go out and dress up again!!!

  5. I thought GC looked stunning and I LOVED her hair too. Not sure abiut HM jackety thing though. KP looks beautiful in that dress, much more covered up than usual!
    Couldn’t agree with you more regarding SC, she needs some body and bounce in that hair of hers.

  6. Agree with most of your comments, although I don’t like HBC’s outfit at all and for that money I’d at least want something that looked like it fitted. GC and Gwynnie look lovely (and totally agree with you about GP) and as for Melanie, love the style of the dress but in my opinion it would have looked more elegant without the flowers. Great post btw.

  7. I would like Eva’s dress if there wasn’t so much boobage. Really, what are these ladies trying to prove — that they’ve paid lots of money for their breasts? Cause I don’t think the homegrown variety of that size stay up in place like that, regardless of how much tape is used.

    I like Melanie G’s dress, if I overlook the flowers. Helen Mirren’s dress is lovely, but I didn’t like the coat. And so glad to hear someone liked Gwynneth Paltrow’s dress. I, too, thought it was elegant and lovely, but I read lots of critics on the interwebs about how age inappropriate it was, that the cape was old lady-ish. I totally disagree.

Leave a Reply

