Worrying – Motivational Monday

When I blogged my ‘Rules For Life’ back in November 2010, number 4 was ‘Try Really Hard Not To Sweat The Small Stuff.’

I am not good at this.

I am one of life’s worriers.  If something is available to be worried about, you can guarantee I’ll be churning it over and over in my mind.  If it’s something that’s out of my control, I’ll probably be worrying over it even more.

If I’m honest, I think it’ll always be an uphill struggle to stop  – worry is part of my nature and is built into my psyche.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t try.  So this week, I’ll be working hard on trying not to sweat the small stuff.

This is my current desktop wallpaper – will the message subliminally enter my brain every time I’m sitting in front of the computer?

I found this one on my travels around the internet this weekend, and it really struck a chord with me.

And whilst I’m no Star Wars fan, Yoda gave a LOT of very sage advice, including the unforgettable ‘Train Yourself To Let Go’.

I’m also no fan of self-help books, but as I have a copy of the following in my bookcase, I’ll be having a flick through that as well.

 

I don’t imagine for one second that I’ll be cured of worrying by any of this, but maybe I’ll chill out and relax a little bit, which can only be a good thing.

9 thoughts on “Worrying – Motivational Monday

  1. I am exactly the same. I will go over and over the worry, not sleep because I am worried and usually for nothing.

  2. It sounds as though you are worrying about trying not to worry and failing!! lol!
    I am the same too – Im not happy if Im not worrying! and my son is the same!
    -x-

  3. I’m also worrying all the time about everything to the point of not sleeping and almost having panic attacks in the middle of the night! I try so hard to stop this but I wind up doing it over and over again. Sorry to hear that you are the same. The more I tell myself to stop, the worse it gets.
    It doesn’t really help anything, does it? It just makes us anxious and panicky.

    • Arlene, I don´t know if it will hep you but I was listening to a programme about this and it said if you get one of these thoughts that you cannot seem to stop keep saying “the the the” over and over. Some how it breaks the trigger of thoughts. I have tried it at night when I have woken and it does seem to help.

  4. I worry about having a plan in place…as soon as I think it through and do what I can to prepare, then I can pretty much let go of worrying. I don’t tend to worry about things I can’t control. Like the weather. My mother in law and my sister are both weather worriers. It drives me nuts when my mother-in-law calls to ask about our weather, because after 30 years you would think she would know I don’t watch it on TV, I don’t pay attention, and I don’t give a flip. Which is kind of funny considering I’m knitting a Sky Scarf this year…LOL. As luck would have it, we are having severe weather tonight…tornado warnings and such…but I have a plan so I’m not going to worry! What’s my plan? Well in case of imminent danger, I will hunker down in my husband’s closet…all interior walls without windows or glass…mine’s the same, but his is nice and tidy with lots of floor space. 🙂

  5. I’m a worrier too. Some good advice I heard is.. Will the thing you’re worrying about matter, in 3 weeks? 3 months? 3 years? It helps to get perspective on the stupid stuff we worry about.

Leave a Reply

