Fabulous Food

When we were in London a couple of weeks ago, we had an amazing meal at Clos Maggiore, a little restaurant near Covent Garden.  Ashley and I had eaten there once before and loved it, and we were just as impressed on this second visit – the friends we were with really enjoyed it, too.

We chose the six course tasting menu, and not content on this occasion with keeping a copy of the menu (I collect menus from lovely restaurants I visit – they make such a nice reminder of an enjoyable occasion), I decided to photograph each course as well.

We had matching wines with each course as well, which were all delicious (and perfectly chosen accompaniments by the very knowledgeable sommelier).

Seared Wild Scallops with Salted Cod Brandade, Herb Vinaigrette.  Probably my least favourite course, as the flavours were a bit disappointing.  But better was to come …

Roasted Goose Foie Gras & Hazelnut, Pain d’épices & Poached Quince – just a delicious combination of textures and flavours, and far more beautifully presented than my crap photo would have you believe!

Slow Cooked Fillet of Cornish Cod “Rougaille” , Vermicelli & Shellfish, Iberico Chorizo Sauce – loved this, the fish was cooked to perfection, and somehow the strong shellfish and chorizo flavours didn’t overpower it.

Caramelized Honey Glazed Gressingham Duck Breast, Roasted Red Plum & Endive Meunière, Ruby Port Sauce – the duck was very strongly flavoured, and I couldn’t eat it all, but the presentation was once again amazing.

The cheeseboard.  Always one of my favourite parts of a meal.

Dark Valrhona Chocolate & Griottine Fondant, Griottine Cherry Sorbet – considering I’m not a huge fan of chocolate desserts, I demolished this in about five seconds!  The cherry sorbet was the perfect accompaniment to cut through the richness of the chocolate.

Goodness, reliving that has made me hungry!  Is it lunchtime yet?!

4 thoughts on “Fabulous Food

  1. OMG that looks divine. I don’t like nuts so would have had to let you scoff certain bits but the rest…..
    I am going out with a pal tomorrow for lunch to a place that ONLY sells desserts!!! Even though you can have several courses!!

    My kind of venue (she says sipping diet hot choc).

  2. Those dishes look so good. I love tasting menus. Sounds (and looks) like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing those food photos.

Leave a Reply

