Five Favourite Beauty Products

I do love my beauty products, and it has been nice to be able to buy myself some new things to try after a whole year of self-imposed make up and beauty shopping ban in 2011.

So I thought I’d share with you a few of my current can’t-live-without-products.

1.   Clarisonic Mia – This is a sonic skin cleansing system, and I’ve been using it almost every evening since receiving it as a Christmas present.  I absolutely love how clean it makes my face feel – apparently it cleanses up to 6 times more thoroughly than standard cleansing methods.  And it has also improved my skin enormously: although I’m not prone to spots (thankfully), I have suffered for years from those tiny hard white spots under the skin (milia), and I have noticed a huge improvement in these since starting to use the Clarisonic – they are almost all gone now, which I’m delighted about.

2.   Crabtree & Evelyn Lily Body Lotion – I love the fragrance of Lily of the Valley (why is it called Lily, when it’s Lily of the Valley?  Strange), and if I put this body lotion on first thing in the morning, I can still smell it on my skin in the afternoon.  I rather fancy the shower gel and eau de toilette as well …

3.   Soap & Glory Heel Genius – I do love a good foot cream, especially at this time of year – after a long winter in boots, my tootsies need all the help they can get.   You put it on before bed and it soaks in overnight, softening and smoothing your feet.  It feels lovely and smells pretty good too.  And I’ve also used it as an emergency lip balm, with excellent results.  AND it’s only about a fiver and lasts for ages.

4.   Simple Eye Make Up Remover – I ALWAYS come back to this eye make up remover, as it’s gentle, does a perfect job and is cheap as chips.  And I haven’t found a single one (even the really pricy ones) that I prefer.  Just perfect.

5.   Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact – I treated myself to this when it was on Buyapowa – mmm, I’m a bit addicted to this co-buying site – recently, at a brilliant price.  It gives me a lovely healthy glow without being too bronzer-y, and has become a staple part of my daily make-up routine.

So, that’s my top five current favourites.

What are your beauty staples at the moment?  Have you got any recommendations for me?

11 thoughts on “Five Favourite Beauty Products

  1. I think my favourite product is Clinique Sparkle Skin exfoliating cream. After that it’s my Jo Malone body cream and then my Superdrug Vitamin E face cream with SPF15. Most of the other face creams I’ve tried with SPF in them have felt ‘heavy’ on my face but this one just sinks in beautifully.

    • I’ve used Sparkle Skin the past, but had forgotten about it! Do love a bit of Jo Malone – got a sample skincare pack for Xmas a couple of years back, and particularly like the honey face cream – only use it on special occasions, though!

  2. Now I am back home so am able to start commenting on your always interesting blogs.

    Lily of the Valley – this is by far my most evocative scent taking me back to my childhood. There is a Dior perfume that has this as its background scent but cannot remember the name. Must try this when I am back in the UK God knows when that will be now.

    I also use Simple eye make up remover and agree with your comments.

    Now for my favourites. Sorry Caroline but Nanoblur is up there it evens out my skin tone and as I have a problem with open pores on the nose it just seems to decrease these. Normally I would wear a slight smattering of powder under the eyes and nose – not necessary now. My new buy is Cliniques Even Better foundation. Superb covers my brown spots and is light and non clogging.

    Did buy a Mac liquid eyeliner but once again am disappointed. Just cannot seem to get any eye liner to look good these days since my eyes have slightly “dropped”.

    • Hope you had a good trip home, Glynis. If you remember the Dior perfume, do let me know, would like to try it. Glad you like Nanoblur and that it works for you, maybe it just wasn’t for me. I struggle with liquid liner, but have a gel one by Bobbi Brown that I find easier to work with. The Clinique foundation sounds good, may give that a try when my current one runs out.

  3. No7 airbrush serum – love it – smooths out fine lines and holds your make up on all day – also loving my Clarins foundation!

  4. I haven’t invested in the Clarisonic, but I did buy a knock off by Olay, and it does make my skin feel really clean. I absolutely love Purity cleanser by Philosophy…I don’t even have to use eye makeup remover, it takes off even heavily applied mascara while I’m washing the rest of my face. I love Philosophy’s Hope in a Jar moisturizer too. I use Bare Escentuals makeup products for face and eyes and love them. The number one product I use that has saved me embarassment and money is Mimic, which is a cream root cover that you brush on your hair roots at the part (just goes on the hair, not on the part). I can go a LONG time between colorings because of this stuff.

    • Thanks for those recommendations, Kathleen. I’ve really liked the Philosophy products I’ve tried in the past, so will definitely give that cleanser a go. Mimic sounds interesting, too – I wonder if I can get it, or similar, over here.

  5. I think the Dior perfume might be Diorella or Diorissimo. I use baby oil on a wet cotton wool pad for removing my eye make up. Have found nothing better or cheaper.

    • Fiona, I think you are right and it could very well be Diorissimo. I used to use baby oil but ended up with panda eyes.

Leave a Reply

