Recipe: Tortellini & Pesto Minestrone

First of all, please excuse the rubbish photo – I had to scan the one from the original recipe as I totally forgot to take a picture of my version before demolishing the whole bowlful!

Loved this recipe – ticked all my boxes: quick, easy, declicious, not too unhealthy  – what’s not to like?  William, despite not liking the fact it was quite so green, ate a large bowlful as well, so it ticked the ‘kid-friendly’ box as well.

This recipe serves 4 – I halved it and there was more than enough for two.

  • 1.5 litres stock (recipe said veg stock but I used chicken as I had some in the fridge that needed using up).
  • 500g pack fresh tortellini (recipe said spinach and ricotta, but I used a spicy sausage version which had a lower saturated fat content)
  • 500g spring greens – washed and shredded.  Sadly, Asda was all out of spring greens, so I used a savoy cabbage which worked fine, though given the choice, I’d probably have gone for the spring greens.
  • 140g frozen peas.  I guess you could use fresh if you fancied.
  • 4 tbsp pesto.   I used jar pesto, but fresh would probably be even better.

Bring the stock to the boil.  Tip in the pasta and cook following pack instructions.  Chuck in the greens and peas with 2 mins to go.  When veg are tender and pasta cooked, remove from heat, stir in pesto, along with a good grind of black pepper, sppon into bowls and serve.

Told you it was easy.  Surprisingly filling, as well.

Yum.

** Linking up with Mrs M’s Recipes **

One thought on “Recipe: Tortellini & Pesto Minestrone

Leave a Reply

