Reading & Watching

I thought I’d start a regular post to share what I’m currently reading and watching, as I’m always interested in other people’s posts about what they’re enjoying book-wise and on TV.

This week’s book is Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.

I’m almost halfway through and sadly I’m not enjoying it very much.  Although it’s an easy read, I’m finding it very flat and I can’t really get a handle on any of the characters.  I loved the film, which I saw at the cinema last year, so this may be clouding my view.

Prisoners of War is the Israeli TV series that the very popular recent US series Homeland was based on.  Having really enjoyed Homeland, I thought I’d give this one a try when it started on Sky Arts recently, despite the fact I usually steer well clear of anything with subtitles, and I’m liking it more than I anticipated.  I’ve only watched two episodes so far, however, and it does seem a little bit slow, so I’ll see how I get on.

What are you reading and watching at the moment?  Anything good?

11 thoughts on “Reading & Watching

  1. I thought i was the only person that didnt like Water for Elephants.I found it lifeless and i gave up after reading less than half of it. And so I had no interest in seeing the film.Life is to short to read books that dont hold your attention.

  2. Ahh, so glad you are watching Prisoners of War. As you say a bit slow but gathering pace. I haven´t got a problem with sub-titles as I find it actually makes you concentrate more on what is happening. We have watched all the Scandi series and loved them and am now on to Spiral2 and Braque both French and very dark. All my favourite US series are finishing and I shed a few tears at the end of Desperate Housewives and House.

    Now for books – Am reading all of the Game of Thrones series thoroughly & enjoying them. I also finished Jodie Picoult Lone Wolf, which at the start I disliked but by the end loved it. I am of course reading my daughters´ novels both in her name and the erotica in MY NAME, the latest of which I actually really enjoyed as it is about a woman finding a handsome naked man on her doorstep something I often wish for!

    Glad you are going to make this a series Caroline. Keep blogging.

      • Difficult one as I have enjoyed them all. I think my favourite was Those Who Kill, a bit like Cracker, but, very gory. Borgen is more political, machinations of a coalition Government and how it affects the lives of the woman Politician. The Killing is very good but we never saw the first one (I have just finished the book which I enjoyed) but I think the best is The Bridge. Absolutely gripping. An excellent US series to catch up on and which has just finished is The Good Wife with Julianne Marguilles from ER. Political lawyer drama. Anyone watching Hit and Miss?

  3. I liked the book but I hadn’t seen the film at all. Also, I didn’t see the film as I heard the chemistry between old Reece and Rob was not the best. I still have to watch ‘Homeland’ that I have heard such good things about…….

  4. I haven’t been able to access your blog all week, just kept trying and being timed out!
    The only thing I’ve watched recently is Harlots, Housewives and Heroines, a BBC 3 series presented by Lucy Worsley, she does get very enthusiastic. I saw the movie Paul last weekend, made me laugh out loud in places.
    Anyway hope you have a good weekend.
    Lisa x

Leave a Reply

