For My Dad

 

Today is Father’s Day here in the UK, and it as is often the case, Facebook was full of lovely messages from people whose Dads are no longer with them, saying how much they miss them and wish they were still here.

I am lucky enough to still have my Dad, although as the years march inexorably by at ever-increasing pace, I become more and more aware that one day, he won’t be with me any more.

And so, while I’ve still got the chance, I just wanted to say:

Thank you, Dad, for the innumerable things that you have done for me over the last 43 years, and all that you continue to do.  You have been, and are, the best Dad I could ever imagine having, and your advice is still the advice that I value most in all the world.

I don’t say it often enough, but I love you, Dad.

Happy Father’s Day xxx

 

6 thoughts on “For My Dad

  1. OMG I have the biggest lump in my throat. Make every day count whilst you have him. I talk to my Dad every day even though he isn´t with me any more. xx

  2. You are indeed lucky to still have your Dad. I find it poignant every year that Mr S gets his cards etc from our 4 but we two have no Dads to share the day with. They are in our thoughts of course…. Have a lovely day with your Dad, cherish every moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

