The Yummy Mummy Meme

I’ve seen this doing the rounds recently, so thought I’d give it a go.  Not that I consider myself in any way a ‘Yummy Mummy’ – in fact, I actively dislike the phrase!

 

What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

I usually wake up before my alarm goes off at 6.50, particularly in the summer months with light mornings, and I’m ashamed to say that the first thing I do is pick up my iPhone and check the weather forecast, my eBay sales and my emails, in that order.  In my defence, the only reason the iPhone is next to the bed is that I use it as an alarm clock since my previous one broke some months ago.

Do you shower daily? Are you an early morning shower or evening bath type?

Yes, I shower daily, as part of my morning routine.  If Ashley’s doing the school run, I usually wait until after they’ve departed for school/work, but If I’m doing it, I’ll have showered and dressed by 7.15 am.  I quite often have a bath at the weekend, particularly in winter, usually late afternoon.  I used to spend hours in the bath as a kid, reading, but it’s more of a quick in and out these days.  The bath, that is, people.

Do you wear make up daily?

ALMOST daily, yes.  I have to confess to not bothering with make-up on a Sunday morning before I go to the car boot sale, and occasionally, if I’m not leaving the house all day, I don’t bother.  But I just feel so much better when I’ve ‘done my face’.  As, I’m sure, does anybody who looks at me!

What’s in your make up bag?

The one I carry around in my handbag?  Because the main bulk of my make-up is in boxes and drawers – yes, there’s a lot of it!  Anyway, I carry a small bag around in my handbag, containing (currently) 4 lipglosses (am a lipgloss junkie), a lip salve, a tube of handcream, two miniature perfume samples, and a tampon.

When you’re having a slummy mummy day, what do you normally wear?

Pink knitted Uggs (gotta love that cosy sheepskin lining), and some form of comfy pyjamas, generally.  Slummy is the word.

Nails. How often do you get them done?

I have horrible weak nails which I loathe, and are impossible to grow.  About a year ago I had false nails applied, and got a bit addicted to them.  The cost of maintenance was eye-watering, though, so I changed over to gel manicures, which last about a fortnight.  Then I discovered I could buy the kit and do it myself at home for a fraction of the price, which I’ve been doing since about February.

Your top tip for tired eyes?

Nine hours’ sleep.  Swear by it.

Are you a Starbucks or Costa Coffee kind of girl?

We don’t have a Starbucks within 20 miles of where I live (bloody Devon!) so Costa it is.  I’m not a big coffee drinker, but I do like the occasional one, and I particularly like an iced coffee in the summer.  Although obviously there’s been little call for iced coffee so far this ‘summer’.

How many children do you have/want and why?

Just the one – 12yo William.  Only ever wanted one. And William was the most horrendous sleeper – didn’t sleep through the night EVER until he was 2 (which is probably why I love my sleep so much now!) which would have put me off having any more if I’d been so inclined, I imagine.  I wrote a post on this subject back in 2009.

Where is you favourite place to shop for babies/children’s clothes?

Over the years, I’ve bought many, many clothes from charity shops and car boot sales for Will, and I have to say that these bargains are my favourites – for example the £1.99 I paid recently for a beautiful suit jacket from Next, which Will will be wearing to a wedding later this summer.  He’s getting to the age now, however, that he likes to choose his own clothes – Superdry is a current favourite (which I loathe, but what can you do?!)

Flats or heels, your everyday shoes are?

Heels all the way for me.  Flats at home, if I’m honest, but the second I step out of the door, it’s a pair of heels.  Can’t beat ‘em for adding a bit of glam to the every day.

 

4 thoughts on “The Yummy Mummy Meme

  1. Love this blog, I can now think of you as a slummy mummy! But Starbucks or Costa – I hate these chains with a passion. Give me an old fashioned tea shop with tea in china pots with beautiful assortment of cakes.

  2. Loved reading that. I live in the US and am not familiar with Costa?? There are too many
    Starbucks here! I don’t even care for their coffee. I find it very bitter. I love Dunkin Donuts coffee which is so popular where I live. There’s two in my little town. I was thinking of what you said about your son not sleeping through the night until he was 2. My daughter was in kindergarten (5 years old) and she was still getting up in the middle of the night because she would wake up and then be afraid of the dark. She would come into my bedroom and scare the crap out of me by standing by the side of the bed until I turned around and woke up. This is my younger daughter. My older daughter slept through the night after she was around 1 year old. Since having my second daughter, I have been a very light sleeper. I wake up several times a night for no apparent reason.
    I also wear makeup every day. I hate going out without any on. I feel exposed and self conscious.

  3. There just had to be a show question in there somewhere! I was looking through S’s wardrobe yesterday and I think 95% of her clothes have come via the charity shops or car boots, we must have saved a small fortune!
    Lisa x

Leave a Reply

