July’s Clothes Shopping

My long-time blogging friend S, over at Style at Any Age, has been listing her fashion purchases on a monthly basis recently, and I really liked the idea, so thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and do a similar monthly post .  Apart from anything else, I’d be quite interested to know how much I spend on new clothes and shoes over the course of a year!

I do buy a lot of things second-hand – charity shops and car boot sales are by far my favourite hunting grounds for clothes and shoes – but I buy a fair amount new as well.  Once again, however, this morning’s car boot sale has been thwarted by torrential rain.

We were away for two weeks during July, so I didn’t buy anything at all during the first half (though I probably spent a lot in June buying bits and bobs for my holidays, if I’d added that up!).

My first purchase on my return from holiday was these gorgeous wedges from Stylistpick.  I couldn’t believe they were only £10, and delivery was free!  Although they’re very high, the wedge makes them more wearable, and I’m thinking they’ll be ideal for smartening up cropped jeans for a casual evening out. Loved the packaging they came in, too.

After our holiday, I noticed that my favourite swimsuit was starting to get those bald patches where the lycra disintegrates, so I very sadly relegated it to the bin, and decided that if I wanted to replace it I’d better be quick about it, as the shops are almost all full of autumn/winter stock now.  Ridiculous, really.  I ended up buying two new swimsuits from the Debenhams website, both of which were in the sale.  I also found a discount code for 20% off and free postage, which brought the total down to £27.20.

My final purchase this month was a printed tunic top by Zandra Rhodes which I bought from Simply Be.  We’re going to Ashley’s PA’s wedding next Friday, which I’m looking forward to.  It’s a country wedding in a small village church, with a hog roast reception in the pub opposite, so won’t be a hugely smart affair.  I’m planning to wear a very pale khaki silk maxi skirt which I bought last year from ASOS, with this top, and some Aldo nude patent heels.  And probably a waterproof coat!

I am pleased to say it was another sale bargain, as I don’t think I’d have wanted to pay the original full price of £60.  Again I found a discount code, and including a £2.99 delivery charge, I paid £31.79.

So a total spend for July of £68.99.  It’s been a more expensive month than that where Will’s concerned, though, as he’s had a sudden growth spurt which has necessitated me buying him several pairs of jeans, two hoodies and a smart pair of trousers for next week’s wedding, to go with the Next suit jacket I picked up from a charity shop a couple of months ago for a bargainous £1.99.  He now tells me his trainers are getting too small, so I’m guessing a trip to the shoe shop will be in order in the next few days!

5 thoughts on “July’s Clothes Shopping

Leave a Reply

